secretary awards header image
image holder

HUD Secretary's Awards > Community Foundations Awards > Award for Community Foundations 2012 HUD Region 8

Telluride Foundation

January 2009

Municipal agency partners:
Towns of Norwood, Nucla, Naturita, Paradox, Rico, Dolores, Dove Creek

County agency partners:
Dolores, Montrose, and San Miguel counties

State agency partners:
Department of Local Affairs, Governor’s Commission on Community Service

Federal agency partners:
Department of Health and Human Services, Corporation for National and Community Service, AmeriCorp VISTA

Nongovernmental partners:
Telluride Foundation, David and Lucile Packard Foundation, El Pomar Foundation, Aspen Community Foundation, Wyoming Community Foundation, community nonprofit organizations involved in the Strengthening Communities Fund pilot, oil and gas companies


Telluride Foundation

Surrounded by natural splendor, the foundation celebrates philanthropy by supporting charitable organizations, building capacity and resources for the region, and operates initiatives that address new and emerging issues.

Paradox Community Trust

The Telluride Foundation uses a hybrid approach of unrestricted giving and foundation and public partnerships to serve a five-county area in rural, southwest Colorado. In 2008, the foundation initiated a private public partnership, the Paradox Community Trust (PCT), between local municipalities, county governments, state agencies, and federal departments. The effort works to moderate the inevitable boom and bust cycles of local economies that rely on oil, gas, and mining production and create long-term community investment.

PCT does this by combining resource extraction severance taxes with foundation grants, charitable contributions, and local estate giving to create a locally controlled permanent fund for community improvement and economic development investments.

<  HUD Region 7  |  HUD Region 9  >